Best Spiritual-But-Not-Religious Books

new-thought-book-18

Dear kids,

Let’s face it: spiritual books are written for one reason and one reason only: to make us feel good. It’s not about self-improvement. I’ts not about making the world a better place. We just want to crack the code for inner peace.

Fortunately for us, lots of them deliver. Not always as completely as promised, but let’s not be too picky. Most of us have a healthy number of issues to figure out. It’s a bit much for any one teacher to deal with.

Which is why many of us spiritual types read every good book on the subject we can find. Some give us practical techniques. Some shake up our entire perspective. Others simply offer a bit of hope.

And still others do none of the above.

In the following pieces, I offer you, my beloved children, my Inner Peace Greatest Hits–the spiritual-but-not-religious books that over the years have helped me become a happier, more fulfilled person. Each top-level entry links to a full article on the book that includes a personal anecdote and notes on the book.

Best Spiritual-But-Not-Religious Books is part of a larger project, a curriculum I’m writing for you, my homeschooled kids, called Books I Want My Kids to Read Someday. Like this list, it’s an ongoing, possibly unending, project. Check back here or on the Welcome page of my blog for updates.

Much love,

Mom

P.S. Here are a few related links for you, too:

Best Spiritual-But-Not-Religious Books:

Best Meditation Books

Best Spiritual Memoirs

Best Law of Attraction Books

Best Channeled Books

Best Scientific Spiritual Books

Best Near Death Experience Books

Best Reincarnation Books

Other Best Spiritual-But-Not-Religious Books

Best Free Spiritual Ebooks

Best of the Best: My Favorite Spiritual Books

More Words I Love:

Best Spiritual-But-Not-Religious Children’s Books

Best Spirituality Blogs

100 Websites for Free Spirituality Ebooks

***

Finally, it happened. After ten years thinking about it, I attempted, as the Apostle Paul once wrote, to “pray without ceasing”–to communicate in an ongoing way with the Divine.

Interested in my results?

Get You’re Getting Closer: One Year of Finding God and a Few Good Friends on Amazon. It’s free.

***

More Stuff to Read:

Some Spiritual Practices Actually Work. It’s Amazing.

There are hundreds of spiritual techniques for overcoming depression and increasing inner peace. Here, stories about the ones that actually work. In some posts, I rate the practices, too. Sort of like county fair pumpkins, but more spiritual.

There’s a Book for That, Too

It’s a great time to get suddenly awesome. So many teachers. So many books.

I’m a Partner, a Mom, a Friend, a Mom, a Sister, a Daughter, a Businessperson and a Mom. Here’s What Helps.

Don’t read this section. It’s nonsense, mostly.

521 comments

I like opinions. Especially mine. But here's where to put yours, too.

