Author Interview: How Do You Love What Is When You Don’t Even Like It?

law-of-attraction-pink-bubble-background

I have this friend who is really, really happy. Her name is Leta Hamilton. She’s a channel, an author, and a mom of four–and the perfect person to grill for answers about life. Her books include The Way of the Toddler and a four-book series called 100 Daily Messages.

Here, part of a question-and-answer session that I am posting in installments.

Me: So, Leta, here’s the problem: I am not a naturally happy person. I mean, I am happy, most of the time, but it takes a whole lot of work (most notably, a lot of exercise).

Abraham and others talk a lot about the importance of feeling good and gives us lots of tricks to do so. (In one Abraham book, there are 22.) They seem to work for me when I do them consistently. I force myself to a better feeling place. But it takes effort. Sometimes a lot. Maybe others don’t find it as difficult as I do, but to me it feels like I’m fighting an uphill battle trying to counteract all of my learned negativity. I mean, I’m one of those people that can get an awesome cup of coffee, free wi-fi and a perfect couch spot at Starbucks and still focus on the guy yacking on his cell phone next to me to the exclusion of all else. (At least I used to be, and sometimes still am.)

What is your advice about this?

Leta: My advice is to love what is. Just that.

Me: How? Can you give me a much clearer, more practical idea of what’s going on in your head as you are loving and appreciating throughout your day? Maybe a small example of a few moments inside your head?

Leta: Often, my head is just saying, “I love God.” I have thoughts. I’m human, after all. But my head is empty probably a lot more than most humans.

I will meet people I don’t like. I will encounter things and situations I don’t like. They may even be grotesque to my sensibilities. However, I am challenged to love the divine within all things. I am challenged to be One with all things. I am challenged to broaden my perspective so that I find the divine innocence at the heart of everything. I am challenged to love and accept everyone, even people I don’t like. If I meet someone I don’t like, I ask myself if this is a situation I can change. Am I willing to put forth the effort to like them (which would mean changing everything about myself, going into another personality and being someone I am not)? The answer is no. However, I can see the divine innocence in them. I can understand them and love them even though I may not like them. None of it scares me. I love it all. I have a relationship with myself that allows for constant self-inquiry leading to understanding and love that takes me beyond the disconnected to the connected. I have so much fun.

Love.

Leta

***

For more from Leta, and more from me on meditation, get The Power of Acceptance: One Year of Mindfulness and Meditation on Amazon.

***

More mystical reading choices:

Best Meditation Books

Best Near Death Experience Books

Best Channelled Books

Best Law of Attraction Books

Best Scientific Spiritual Books

Best Reincarnation Books

Best Spiritual Memoirs

Best New Age Children’s Books

Best Other/Inspirational New Age Books

My Favorite Free Ebooks for Mystics

Best of the Best: My All-Time Favorite Books for Mystics

150 Law of Attraction Success Stories

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. My instant answer to your post name would have been: there is a big difference between “like” and “love”. I told my children (when they were older) that they had to love their Mom because she’s their Mom, but they don’t have to like her. She’s a hard person to like. I can love her because she gave me the two best things in my life, but I don’t like her much at all. “See the divine”? Perhaps, I guess that’s a good thing to call loving all, but not liking. God is in us all and we are all one…love that.
    Scott

Got an opinion? Do tell.

