My goal: To write the best spirituality book blog on the Internet

Image from the law of attraction book list featuring all major law of attraction authors at lawofattractionproject.com

Okay, so it’s not that humble of me, or that spiritual, really. But I admit it: I want to be the best. Even worse, I actually believe that it’s possible.

I think The Ordinary Mystic can someday be the best, or one of the best, New Age spirituality book blogs on the Internet.

As many of you have noticed, the blog transitioned this year from The Law of Attraction Project to a more general New Age/mysticism theme. Surprisingly, I haven’t lost many followers through the change, which I am definitely grateful for. Now, I want to really deliver on my promise to myself that this blog will continue to give my current readers the kind of posts they’ve been enjoying here for several years now, plus fill a big void online.

One of the ways I’m fulfilling that goal is by writing longer, more in-depth posts, like the one I published just recently. Another is to find the best free New Age ebooks I can find, and letting you know about them. And yet another is by creating a huge repository of best spirituality book lists, complete with book descriptions and links.

My goal is to create the most comprehensive list of the greatest New Age/mysticism books available, complete with descriptions and relevant links. The idea is that these lists will help people discover new spirituality authors that they may never have heard about otherwise. (One of my readers referred to these lists as “guides for spiritual travellers.”)

When I first came to New Age spirituality after “converting” away from the Christian faith, I wanted to read everything I could. The problem: I couldn’t find that many books. A friend told me about Neale Donald Walsch, and I went on that mind-expanding cruise with great enthusiasm. But after that, I wanted more. Eventually, I found Esther and Jerry Hicks and a handful of other well-known authors. But the more obscure ones took a lot longer to find, and today, five years into my journey, I’m only now reading some of the best (Byron Katie, Matt Kahn, and Pema Chodron, to name a few) for the very first time.

One of the reasons for my slowness to discover these and many, many other authors is that books are often miscategorized on Amazon. Also, libraries don’t often have a huge New Age book selection; they carry the really well-known stuff and not much else.

The upshot: A plea. A simple request, really. Help me make this blog a bit awesomer. If you know of any authors that I haven’t featured on my lists yet, clue me in. Send the titles to mollie@mollieplayer.com.

Also, are you an author or publisher who’d like to promote a book on my site? I would love to work with you to get the word out. Just let me know how I can help.

Thanks so much. This is so much fun for me.

***

Diets don’t work? I disagree.  

Find out how I lost my extra 20 pregnancy pounds–after all four of my pregnancies. 

Get The Emergency Diet: The Somewhat Hard, Very Controversial, Totally Unheard Of and Fastest Possible Way to Lose Weight on Amazon. 

***

More mystical reading choices:

Best Meditation Books

Best Near Death Experience Books

Best Channeled Books

Best Law of Attraction Books

Best Scientific Spiritual Books

Best Other/Inspirational New Age Books

Best Spiritual Memoirs

Best Blogs for Mystics

Best of the Best: My All-Time Favorite Books for Mystics

 

3 comments

  1. I think it’s a great idea as long as you keep up what you’ve been doing as I love reading those posts…have you got Marianne Williamson on your list? i don’t remember. Here is excerpt…
    “Marianne Williamson » #1 New York Times Best-Selling Author
    marianne.com/
    Marianne Williamson has written seven New York Times best sellers, including her newest book Tears To Triumph.”

Got an opinion? Do tell.

