Love is just a feeling (“Alone and Together,” continued)

Halfway or so through college, I met Sam. Sam was a nice person, and he could have been a good friend. I met him at a college event and we went out for coffee afterwards and on a couple of unofficial dates after that. One night we stayed up until about three a.m. talking about philosophy and literature.

He was a nerd, and I liked him a lot.

On our last date, I told him I was taking birth control. He was a rigid Catholic and he reacted more strongly than I expected.

He never called me again.

About two months later, I passed him in a hallway at school. I just glanced at him for a few seconds, but the feeling I had after seeing his face was so strong that I realized I’d been in love with him all the time I’d known him, and all the time since as well.

And so, that was the day I learned how easy it is to fall in love. It just took a couple of conversations, really, and it happened without my even realizing it.

Maybe it’s better not to realize it sometimes.

But I learned something else, too. I learned that love is just a feeling, after all.

It’s just a feeling and that is all.

what do you think?

