Life Hack for Getting Suddenly Awesome: Don’t Fall in Love with Your Brother

Image from the law of attraction book list featuring all major law of attraction authors at lawofattractionproject.com

After Mike, I didn’t have a real boyfriend for a long time. At the time, I was a good Christian girl and I didn’t want to do anything that was against the bible. But I was lonely.

Very, very lonely.

I did date a few people, though, here and there. I remember one date I went on that was especially nice.

His name was Jason, and we met at work. Jason was one of those people sometimes described as “effortlessly charming.” He smiled a lot. (I should try that sometime.)

He was happy, but he was also deep and intense. What could be better than that?

On our date, we went hiking. After we were done, we sat on a little cliff that overlooked the river and talked, and not just a little.

A lot.

We talked about how much we hated phony people and how college changes your beliefs and your perspective of the world and how we both wanted to resist some of those changes. We talked about how we hated hippies and vegetarians and how we refused to ever wear visible name brands on our clothes.

It was a nice conversation.

After that, neither of us wanted the night to be over, so he drove us to another trail and we took another walk. At a spot under a bridge, he kissed me.

It felt like I was kissing my brother.

We didn’t go out again. Several years later, he married a vegetarian.

***

“This is the kind of writing that makes me feel as if I’d sat down with the author on the sofa with cups of tea and we were talking together for hours. The style is so vulnerable …” – Heather

“I don’t know what to say other than it is the most beautiful book that I have ever read.” – Ashley

“Really, I am rather speechless.” – Sarah

“I loved the book!! I couldn’t stop reading it!! It touched me so very much.” – Haydee

“Player has given a beautiful gift to her readers. I was very touched.” – Celia

“Player’s chatty style evokes a realism and empathy for the story. One is able to feel her pain.” – Anonymous 

Get What I Learned from Jane on Amazon.

***

More Stuff to Read:

Some Spiritual Practices Actually Work. It’s Amazing.

There are hundreds of spiritual techniques for overcoming depression and increasing inner peace. Here, stories about the ones that actually work. (In some posts, I rate the practices on a scale of 1-10, too. Sort of like county fair pumpkins, but more spiritual.)

These Are the Books I Want My Kids to Read Someday

Kids, here it is. Have at it.

I’m a Partner, a Mom, a Friend, a Mom, a Sister, a Daughter, a Businessperson and a Mom. Here’s What Helps.

Don’t read this section. It’s nonsense, mostly.

2 comments

I like opinions. Especially mine. But here's where to put yours, too.

