It’s wrong to get annoyed (“Alone and Together,” continued)

In marriage, some days are of course better than others. Sometimes, like anyone, we are annoying to each other, and sometimes, we get annoyed.

One time, we were in the kitchen and I was making dinner and he told me I was cutting the carrots wrong. Then he showed me his way of doing it and to me, it didn’t seem any better.

I was a little bothered by his thinking I needed help but I knew that I shouldn’t be, so I didn’t say anything.

That is my first strategy for dealing with annoyace, and most of the time, it works pretty well.

But not always.

A little later, when we were eating, he said, “So, have you been remembering to fill the ice cube trays? It seemed like they were empty when I checked.”

“I always fill the ice cube trays.” I said. I didn’t say it in a nice way.

“They are not filled now,” he said.

I got up and looked and he was right. They were not filled.

But they were mostly filled.

Later that night, lying in bed, I thought, I was wrong to get annoyed. If he wants more ice, I will give him more ice. What’s the big deal?

We’re in love.

what do you think?

