Best of the Best: My Favorite Spiritual Books of All

Okay, so these aren’t the expected choices. They’re not all classics or best sellers, or even the most substantial, information-heavy works. But I stand by my selections in this list. They’re the spirituality books I liked the most. The most inspiring, the most fun to read–and the most helpful, too.

A list this important is, of course, a work in progress; check back on the Blog page for additions as well as for expanded notes on those that follow.

Click on any title in the first section for my “depression effectiveness rating,” a book description and more. The titles in the second section lead to relevant book and author links.

Here are a few related links for you, too:

Best of the Best: My Favorite Spiritual Books of All:

The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment, Eckhart Tolle
A New Earth, Eckhart Tolle
Practicing the Power of Now, Eckhart Tolle
Stillness Speaks, Eckhart Tolle
The Work of Byron Katie: An Introduction, Byron Katie
Loving What Is: Four Questions That Can Change Your Life, Byron Katie and Stephen Mitchell
I Need Your Love – Is That True?: How to Stop Seeking Love, Approval, and Appreciation and Start Finding Them, Byron Katie and Michael Katz
A Thousand Names for Joy: Living in Harmony with the Way Things Are, Byron Katie and Stephen Mitchell
Who Would You Be Without Your Story?: Dialogues with Byron Katie, Byron Katie
Conversations with God, Part One, Neale Donald Walsch
Conversations with God, Part Two, Neale Donald Walsch
Conversations with God, Part Three, Neale Donald Walsch
Seth Speaks: The Eternal Validity of the Soul, Jane Roberts and Seth
The Magical Approach: Seth Speaks About the Art of Creative Living, Jane Roberts and Seth
Don’t Think Like a Human: Channelled Answers to Basic Questions, Kryon Book Two, Lee Carroll and Kryon
100 Daily Messages for Expanding Consciousness, 100 Daily Messages Volume One, Leta Hamilton and Archangel Michael
100 Daily Messages for Abundance, Enough-ness and Prosperity, 100 Daily Messages Volume Two, Leta Hamilton and Archangel Michael
100 Daily Messages for the Dimensions, Realms of Existence and Planes of Experience, 100 Daily Messages Volume Three, Leta Hamilton and Archangel Michael
100 Daily Messages for No-Mind, Mind-Mastery and Heart-Mind, 100 Daily Messages Volume Four, Leta Hamilton and Archangel Michael
Ask and It Is Given: Learning to Manifest Your Desires, Esther Hicks, Jerry Hicks and Abraham
How God Changes Your Brain: Breakthrough Findings From a Leading Neuroscientist, Andrew B. Newberg
Everything You Need to Know to Feel Go(o)d, Candace Pert
Molecules of Emotion: Why You Feel the Way You Feel, Candace Pert
Breaking the Habit of Being Yourself, Joe Dispenza
Dying to Be Me, Anita Moorjani
Autobiography of a Yogi, Paramahansa Yogananda
The Search For Grace: A Documented Case of Murder and Reincarnation, Bruce Goldberg
Zero Limits: The Secret Hawaiian System for Wealth, Health, Peace, and More, Joe Vitale
Eat Pray Love, Elizabeth Gilbert
Sex, Drugs and Meditation: How One Woman Changed Her Life, Saved Her Job and Found a Husband, Mary-Lou Stephens
Many Lives, Many Masters: The True Story of a Prominent Psychiatrist, His Young Patient, and the Past-Life Therapy That Changed Both Their Lives, Brian Weiss
Meditation Without Gurus, Clark Strand
Ten Percent Happier: How I Tamed the Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, and Found Self-Help That Actually Works–A True Story, Dan Harris
The Miracle of Mindfulness: An Introduction to the Practice of Meditation, Thich Nhat Hanh
Whatever Arises, Love That, Matt Kahn
Beginning Your Love Revolution, Matt Kahn
Fringeology: How I Tried to Explain Away the Unexplainable–and Couldn’t, Steve Volk
The User Illusion: Cutting Consciousness Down to Size, Tor Nørretranders
Lucid Dreaming: Gateway to the Inner Self, Robert Waggoner
A Field Guide to Lucid Dreaming, Dylan Tuccillo, Jared Zeizel and Thomas Peisel
The Child Whisperer, The Ultimate Handbook for Raising Happy, Successful, and Cooperative Children, Carol Tuttle
The Shack, William Young
Learning to Eat Along the Way, Margaret Bendet

***

“This is the kind of writing that makes me feel as if I’d sat down with the author on the sofa with cups of tea and we were talking together for hours. The style is so vulnerable …” – Heather

“I don’t know what to say other than it is the most beautiful book that I have ever read.” – Ashley

“Really, I am rather speechless.” – Sarah

“I loved the book!! I couldn’t stop reading it!! It touched me so very much.” – Haydee

“Player has given a beautiful gift to her readers. I was very touched.” – Celia

“Player’s chatty style evokes a realism and empathy for the story. One is able to feel her pain.” – Anonymous 

Get What I Learned from Jane on Amazon.

***

More Stuff to Read:

Some Spiritual Practices Actually Work. It’s Amazing.

There are hundreds of spiritual techniques for overcoming depression and increasing inner peace. Here, stories about the ones that actually work. In some posts, I rate the practices, too. Sort of like county fair pumpkins, but more spiritual.

There’s a Book for That, Too

It’s a great time to get suddenly awesome. So many teachers. So many books.

I’m a Partner, a Mom, a Friend, a Mom, a Sister, a Daughter, a Businessperson and a Mom. Here’s What Helps.

Don’t read this section. It’s nonsense, mostly.

1,279 comments

  1. Hi Mollie,

    I am long time reader of your blog. I Always love your suggestions and thoughts on life, diet and more.

    Im a certified dating and relationship coach and I have a program I was wondering if you’d be willing to help me promote? It is a law of attraction relationship series. I have a 6 week program (that I sell), and also a 5 Email series to pique interest. Both or either would be great for your readers if you’re interested.

    Here’s more info at my website: http://www.everheartcoaching.com/nmm

    I also have lots of YouTube videos etc and a large list following.

    Much love and would like to chat more! Adriene >

    Like

I like opinions. Especially mine. But here's where to put yours, too.

