Best Spirituality Book for Depression: “The Power of Acceptance” by Mollie Player

Best Spirituality Book for Depression: The Power of Acceptance: One Year of Mindfulness and Meditation by Mollie Player

It was so much fun writing The Power of Acceptance. It’s about my experience with meditation–the ups, the downs, the in-betweens. I wanted to capture the struggle as I was experiencing it. “The struggle is the success,” the saying goes.

Can this book help me overcome depression?

Yes, I believe so.

Does it address depression specifically? What does it say that can help?

Yes. It talks about the importance of acceptance to finding inner peace.

Here’s the book description on Amazon:

For a day, a week, even a month at a time, she had the feeling continuously. She had it while she read, while she drove, while she ate, and while she played with her child. Which is why each time the feeling left, it was a great disappointment.

It was the feeling of connection with the Divine, and Mollie Player wanted to hold on to it forever. But how?

What was the key to continuous meditation?

Following You’re Getting Closer: One Year of Finding God and a Few Good Friends, The Power of Acceptance is her answer to that question. In this year-long journal she shares her attempt to do a sitting meditation each day, then remain in the state of meditation as much as possible after that.

Featuring interviews on meditation from long-time practitioners, The Power of Acceptance isn’t a meditation prescription, but rather a personal story of one woman’s spiritual struggles . . . and breakthroughs.

To what degree do you think it can help me overcome depression?

Since I’m biased here, I’ll skip the rating.

Where can I find it?

The Power of Acceptance on Amazon

What I Learned from Jane on Amazon

Mollie Player on Facebook

Mollie Player on Twitter

***

“This is the kind of writing that makes me feel as if I’d sat down with the author on the sofa with cups of tea and we were talking together for hours. The style is so vulnerable …” – Heather 

“I don’t know what to say other than it is the most beautiful book that I have ever read.” – Ashley 

“Really, I am rather speechless.” – Sarah 

“I loved the book!! I couldn’t stop reading it!! It touched me so very much.” – Haydee 

“Player has given a beautiful gift to her readers. I was very touched.” – Celia 

“Player’s chatty style evokes a realism and empathy for the story. One is able to feel her pain.” – Anonymous  

Get What I Learned from Jane on Amazon. 

***

More mystical reading choices:

Best Meditation Books

Best Near Death Experience Books

Best Channelled Books

Best Law of Attraction Books

Best Scientific Spiritual Books

Best Reincarnation Books

Best Spiritual Memoirs

Best New Age Children’s Books

Best Other/Inspirational New Age Books

Free Ebooks for Mystics

Best of the Best: My All-Time Favorite Books for Mystics

150 Law of Attraction Success Stories

 

 

 

 

2 comments

Got an opinion? Do tell.

