Best Spiritual Memoirs for Overcoming Depression

Best Nonfiction Book 5

The world needs more spirituality memoirs. Many more. And as long as it keeps providing them, I’ll keep reading them–and updating this list.

I chose the books in the first section because they inspired me deeply, changed me for the better, and helped me find greater inner peace. The second section features all of the other spirituality memoirs I’ve come across but may not have read yet, or may not be particularly helpful for depression.

Click on any title in the first section for my “depression effectiveness rating,” a book description and more. The titles in the second section lead to relevant book and author links.

Best Spiritual Memoirs for Overcoming Depression:

Autobiography of A Yogi, Paramahansa Yogananda
Eat Pray Love, Elizabeth Gilbert
Learning to Eat Along the Way, Margaret Bendet
Sex, Drugs and Meditation: How One Woman Changed Her Life, Saved Her Job and Found a Husband, Mary-Lou Stephens
How To Stay Married: The Adventures of a Woman Who Learnt to Travel Light in Life, Love and Relationships, Mary-Lou Stephens
My Stroke of Insight: A Brain Scientist’s Personal Journey, Jill Bolte Taylor
Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage, Elizabeth Gilbert
Stitches: A Handbook on Meaning, Hope and Repair, Anne Lamott
Operating Instructions: A Journal of My Son’s First Year, Anne Lamott
Help, Thanks, Wow: The Three Essential Prayers, Anne Lamott
Surprised by Joy, C.S. Lewis
Medicine Dance: One Woman’s Healing Journey into the World of Native American Sweatlodges, Drumming Meditations and Dance Fasts, Marsha Scarbrough
You’re Getting Closer: One Year of Finding God and a Few Good Friends, Mollie Player
The Power of Acceptance: One Year of Mindfulness and Meditation, Mollie Player
What I Learned from Jane, Mollie Player

Other Recommended Spiritual Memoirs:

Learning to Breathe: My Yearlong Quest to Bring Calm to My Life, Priscilla Warner
Chasing Spirits: The Building of the “Ghost Adventures” Crew, Nick Groff and Jeff Belanger
Grief, Meth, Addiction, God & Zen: A 45 Year Old Man’s Journey With Death, Reality & Recovery, David Carlyle and Cynthia Sharp
The Ghosts and the Path: A Buddhist Monk’s Memoir, Ngawang Khechog
The Yoga Stripper: A Las Vegas Memoir of Sex, Drugs and Namaste, Laila Lucent
Meditations of a Modern Mystic, Maurine Doerken
The Buddha and the Borderline: My Recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder through Dialectical Behavior Therapy, Buddhism and Online Dating, Kiera Van Gelder
Bending God: A Memoir, Eric Robison
From Brooklyn to Benares and Back: A Spiritual Memoir, Dada Vedaprajinananda
On the Edge: Living with an Enlightened Master, Yoga Punya
I: A Meditation and a Memoir, Wiz Ji
Walking Home: A Pilgrimage from Humbled to Healed, Sonia Choquette
The Curve of the World: Into the Spiritual Heart of Yoga: A Memoir, Andy Douglas

***

And, in case you missed it, my memoirs are on the list:

Get You’re Getting Closer: One Year of Finding God and a Few Good Friends and The Power of Acceptance: One Year of Mindfulness and Meditation for an uplifting price on Amazon.

***

More mystical reading choices:

Top 150 Meditation Books

Top 20 Near Death Experience Books

Top 100 Channelled Books

Top 1000+ Law of Attraction Books

Top 25 Scientific Spiritual Books

Top 20 Spiritual Self-Help Books

Top 15 Blogs for Mystics

My 40 Favorite Books for Mystics

150 Law of Attraction Success Stories

7 comments

  1. Nice list. I hope to put my own story out there some day. But lately, so much has been going on (with regards to personal evolution) that the story is still being written, but not ready to be penned yet. I particularly loved My Stroke of Insight. And I love near death experiences, like Anita Moorjani’s, Dying To Be Me, and Dr. Eben Alexander’s, Proof of Heaven.

  2. This is superb, I want to reblog, but I xsnt from my phone! Can you use my Contact Me form and link to your post? I want to reblog this tonight!! Great job

  3. Great list. Love Elizabeth Gilbert. I see many familiar books on the list, others that I need to go and hunt down 🙂 Thank you so much for the follow of my blog 🙂 Every blessing to you in your journey.

what do you think?

