Best book for mystics: “Sex, Drugs and Meditation” by Mary-Lou Stephens

new-thought-meditation-8

Best book for mystics: Sex, Drugs and Meditation: How One Woman Changed Her Life, Saved Her Job and Found a Husband by Mary-Lou Stephens

This best book for mystics’ particular appeal:

Ah, how I love a good memoir. Particularly one on the topic of spirituality. There’s just something about knowing that every harrowing, nauseating, triumphant moment described in the book actually happened that is so satisfying as a reader.

This best book for mystics’ essence:

Once upon a time, Mary-Lou Stephens wasn’t the spiritually aware woman she is today. She was a hard-partying codependent rock star. Here’s the story of her first (difficult!) ten-day meditation retreat, all the stuff that got her there . . . and how it changed her life completely.

This best book for mystics’ outline and highlights:

A few of my favorite parts of the book are:

  • When Mary-Lou discusses the role of meditation: “My roaming mind becomes more productive and comes up with a piece of true brilliance. Vipassana is a technique for the overcoming of craving. It teaches us to observe craving without reacting.”
  • When Mary-Lou describes a true law of attraction success story about finding her calling–her long and distinguished career in radio. A quote: “Within a week of discovering my true vocation I was being offered a gig on air. Another sign. A miracle! I said yes.”
  • When Mary-Lou describes an awesome meditation experience, the kind all of us meditators are looking for: “I keep breathing and observing sensations. As the heat and pain build within my body the strangest thing happens. Energy courses along the routes I’ve been mapping with my mind, from the top of my head to the tips of my toes. I feel as though I’m sitting under a gushing tap. It’s extraordinary and overpowering. The force almost knocks me sideways. I’ve never felt the power of the energy in my body like this before. It pours through my skin, wave after wave starting in my scalp, running through my arms, body and legs, down through my toes. A constant stream of sensations that I have access to for the very first time. Perhaps this is it, the mystery of Vipassana.

For more information on this best book for mystics, see:

Sex, Drugs and Meditation on Amazon

Sex, Drugs and Meditation on Goodreads

Mary-Lou Stephens’ website and blog

Mary-Lou Stephens’ law of attraction success story: “I found my calling in radio

***

More reading choices:

150 Law of Attraction Success Stories

Top 1000+ Law of Attraction Books

Top 35 Books for Mystics

Top Spiritual Memoirs

The Ordinary Mystic Blog Posts

Best Books for Mystics Blog Posts

***

Diets don’t work? I disagree.  

Find out how I lost my extra 20 pregnancy pounds–after all four of my pregnancies. 

Get The Emergency Diet: The Somewhat Hard, Very Controversial, Totally Unheard Of and Fastest Possible Way to Lose Weight on Amazon. 

One comment

what do you think?

