Best Spirituality Book for Depression: “Neale Donald Walsch on Relationships” by Neale Donald Walsch

law-of-attraction-tree

Best Spirituality Book for Depression: Neale Donald Walsch on Relationships by Neale Donald Walsch

Okay, so it’s not Conversations With God. But that doesn’t mean it’s not worth reading. Besides, it’s short and chatty. I like that.

Neale Donald Walsch on Relationships is the transcript of a seminar speech given by the author. It retains the conversational style of the speech.

In the past, Walsch says, he had no idea what relationships were all about. He thought that the purpose of having a partnership was to get something, rather than to give something. He tried to arrange his relationships as a kind of barter: “If you give me this, I’ll give you that.”

The result: he often felt he had to change himself for his partners (for example, soften his loud, embarrassing laugh).

Much later Walsch learned that the real reason for relationships is to help us know who we are, since we can only see in ourselves what we see in others. “Therefore, I cannot find the divinity within me until I seek, discover, and recognize . . . the divinity in you.”

They are also our opportunity to give to others, to love them and see the good in them.

In a pure, awakened relationship, both partners allow each other to do and be whatever they desire—no matter what it is—without anger or punishment. Instead, if the partner wants to do something they’re not okay with, they respond by taking the actions they feel are right for them in light of the other’s actions.

A great example of this: If Walsch’s wife decided to smoke in the house, he’d lovingly, gracefully tell her he will no longer choose to live in the same house. There is no power struggle here, no arguing or blaming; just a clear-headed choice of response.

Our modern institution of marriage does the exact opposite of this. “It “possesses rather than releases,” and “limits, rather than expands.” It’s our way of trying to trap each other into staying the same, even though people are meant to change constantly.

A good partner is:

  • Someone you can be your authentic self with, and
  • Someone who accepts you truly. Some of our so-called faults are actually our best qualities—with the volume turned up a bit too high. We can adjust the volume as needed, without changing who we are.

Other thoughts of note:

  • “Love never says no. You know how I know that? Because God never says no.”
  • Someone asks Walsch how to get out of a power struggle in their relationship. “Well, stop it,” Walsch says. “How do I do that without adapting to conditions that really don’t work for me?” they ask. “Simply stop making an issue over the fact that you refuse to adapt. Just don’t adapt.” Don’t try to make the other person wrong. Just make your own choice in response to theirs.
  • Someone asks why our hearts have to be broken for us to feel more love, and Walsch says that’s just a “cultural myth,” that even when we break up with someone, we can do so in peace, knowing both people have leashed what they wished to learn.
  • Walsch also advises people to be flexible about the “package” a partner shows up in. Your mind may have one plan and your soul, another.

Can this book help me overcome depression?

Kind of? A little, maybe.

The books on my Best Recommended Channeled Books for Depression list that are found in the first section, also titled Best Channeled Books for Depression, are those that I have read and that I can personally vouch for. The other books on this list, under the Other Recommended Channeled Books for Depression heading, are those that I haven’t read yet but that have achieved some degree of recognition and appreciation, or I have read and liked but don’t necessarily help with depression. (In other words, they’re the books that don’t suck.)

This is one of those books.

I include these along with my personal favorites for depression in order to offer a comprehensive list of the channeled book for the “spiritual travelers” out there—people who, like me, are always on the lookout for their next inspiring spiritual read.

Does it address depression specifically? What does it say that can help?

No, it doesn’t. But it talks about law of attraction/creation/manifestation principles, which can be very empowering.

To what degree do you think it can help me overcome depression?

Depression effectiveness rating: 2 on a scale of 1-10

Where can I find it?

Neale Donald Walsch on Wikipedia

Official website of Neale Donald Walsch

Neale Donald Walsch on Relationships on Amazon

***

More mystical reading choices:

Top 20 Spiritual Memoirs

Top 150 Meditation Books

Top 20 Near Death Experience Books

Top 100 Channelled Books

Top 1000+ Law of Attraction Books

Top 25 Scientific Spiritual Books

Top 20 Spiritual Self-Help Books

Top 15 Blogs for Mystics

My 40 Favorite Books for Mystics

150 Law of Attraction Success Stories

***

You’re not an overeater. You mostly keep it healthy. Maybe it’s time to give dieting a chance.

Get The Emergency Diet: The Somewhat Hard, Very Controversial, Totally Unheard Of and Fastest Possible Way to Lose Weight on Amazon. 

 

11 comments

  1. Great site you have here but I was curious about
    if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same
    topics talked about here? I’d really like to be a
    part of community where I can get suggestions from other experienced people that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know.

    Bless you!

  2. Hello! I’ve been following your weebsite for a while now andd
    finnally got thhe courage to goo ahed and giv you a
    shhout oout from Atasxcocita Tx! Jusst wanted to saay
    keep uup tthe gfeat job! Ahaa, itts good dialogtue concerning this
    articlpe aat thhis placde aat ths webpage,
    I hazve read aall that, sso aat thus time mme lso commenfing at this place.
    I have beenn sirfing onlie moree tnan thdee hours today, yyet I nevver found anyy interesting artricle luke yours.
    It iis pretty worth enough forr me. In mmy view, iif alll webb owners
    aand blloggers mae good content as youu did, the intyernet
    will bee much mre userul thann evger before. http://Foxnews.net/

  3. I could not resist commenting. Perfectly written! Hi,
    i reaqd yyour blog occasionally aand i ownn a similwr onee aand i waas just wonddering iff
    youu gett a llot of spam responses? If sso hhow doo yoou preven it, anny plugin orr anything you cann
    suggest? I geet so much latel it’s drivinng mee maad
    soo anyy hewlp iis very muchh appreciated. Wayy cool! Some very
    valkd points! I appredciate yoou pennihg tgis write-up andd tthe rest off thee wesbsite iss extremely good.
    http://foxnews.net/

  4. It’s the besdt time to mae somee ploans for the futuhre annd it’s tume too be happy.

    I havee rread this popst andd if I couyld I want tto suggest yyou spme interestting things or advice.

    Maybe youu could write newxt articlds referrikng to his article.
    I wish tto rrad more thinbs bout it! I am sre thnis parawgraph haas ouched alll thhe interneet people,
    iits realoy really pleasant post on bilding upp neew web site.
    I’ve been surffing online moree than 4 hors today, yett I nsver found anny imteresting arrticle likke yours.
    It iss pretty wotth enough forr me. In mmy opinion, iff alll ite owwners annd bloggers madee glod conttent aas yoou did, thhe inbternet wil bee a lot morte
    usefl thaan ever before. http://foxnews.org

  5. I have been browsingg on-line grater tha three
    hous nowadays, yeet I nevver discovered anny interesting article lik yours.
    It is prfetty prixe sufficint for me. Personally, if aall website
    oners annd blkggers made good conteent mterial aas yoou proobably did, tthe web will bee a loot moe
    hslpful than ever before. Howdy! Someone iin myy Myspoace ggroup shared thius siote wijth uss sso I came to look
    it over. I’m definitelly enjlying the information. I’m bookmarking aand wull be tweetingg ths to myy followers!
    Excellen bpog aand outsttanding style aand design. I sriously lpve
    youyr blog.. Veery nce colods & theme. Didd yoou create thijs amazinmg sjte yourself?
    Please reply backk ass I’m hoping too crate mmy ery owwn sire andd would
    lie too fid out where youu goot thyis frim orr exaactly whast thhe themje iss named.

    Thank you! http://cspan.co.uk

Got an opinion? Do tell.

