Spiritual Practice Success Story: “I’m Definitely Not Shy Anymore”

new-thought-friendship

Contributor: Mollie Player

When I was growing up–let’s face it, up to my mid-twenties–I was one of the shyest people I knew. I could just barely stand speaking in class. I hated standing out in any way–a comment on a new hairstyle, for instance, freaked me out–and I totally sucked at making friends.

Now, this was in my pre-New Thought awareness days, and yet it won’t surprise most of you to know that that didn’t stop me from succeeding in ridding myself of this mental alignment. After a torturous high school experience, while in my first year of college, I made a momentous decision: I decided to stop being shy.

My method: I would speak once a day in class.

I can’t remember if I succeeded in doing this every day or not. Since that semester, though, I have gradually worked my way through most of my shyness, so that today, most people who know me are shocked to learn I wasn’t always at least fairly comfortable around people.

And I even have a good number of friends now.

Sometimes, the intention is all we need to accomplish our goals. Other times, that’s just the beginning of the story. This was one of the latter kind, and yet–there was something miraculous about it, too.

***

Diets don’t work? I disagree.  

Find out how I lost my extra 20 pregnancy pounds–after all four of my pregnancies. 

Get The Emergency Diet: The Somewhat Hard, Very Controversial, Totally Unheard Of and Fastest Possible Way to Lose Weight on Amazon. 

***

More Stuff to Read:

Some Spiritual Practices Actually Work. It’s Amazing.

There are hundreds of spiritual techniques for overcoming depression and increasing inner peace. Here, stories about the ones that actually work. (In some posts, I rate the practices on a scale of 1-10, too. Sort of like county fair pumpkins, but more spiritual.)

These Are the Books I Want My Kids to Read Someday

Kids, here it is. Have at it.

I’m a Partner, a Mom, a Friend, a Mom, a Sister, a Daughter, a Businessperson and a Mom. Here’s What Helps.

Don’t read this section. It’s nonsense, mostly.

One comment

I like opinions. Especially mine. But here's where to put yours, too.

