Spiritual Practice Success Story: “I learned how to meditate”

new-thought-meditation-3

Contributor: Mollie Player

Sometimes, you decide where you want to end up, then purposely take steps to get there. Other times, you just stop and look around you and see where you’re at and realize, “Hey, this is exactly where I wanted to be all along.”

Recently, I found myself experiencing one of the latter kinds of times when, for the first time in my life, I actually enjoyed meditation.

And it didn’t happen just once. Over the past several months, I’ve learned to enjoy this form of prayer more than any other–even more than my affirmations which, along with my walks, have heretofore been my favorite spiritual practice, and one that I thought that nothing else could beat.

So how, then, did this happen? The answer: I read a book–a really, really good one. Reading books is, after all, one of my secrets to life, and I credit it with more small and large personal victories than anyone would reasonably guess.

In any case. The lesson came from a book, and its one you’ve probably even heard of–maybe even read yourself: The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle. If you haven’t, though, let me just say: it’s fantastic.

Here’s my nutshell-sized summary of its contents: It teaches people how to use their physical environments, particularly their bodies, to increase their awareness of the Divine.

So, yeah. Really, really good stuff.

Now, at this point there’s something you should know: Until this time, I have never been able to meditate. I’ve tried and tried and failed and failed, then finally, realizing it just wasn’t going to work out, given up. But several months ago, after this my third reading of this powerful book, something finally clicked. I finally got it–what meditation really is and how it’s done.

And ever since then, it’s been my favorite thing in the world.

Now, I don’t have the time to do it as much as I’d like. However, slowly I am building up the habit, and I believe that eventually I’ll get to the point where I am able to meditate for an hour or two every day (though admittedly I have no plans to keep adding time after that!).

So, even though I’m not exactly sure how or why I attracted this lesson into my life, it is clear to me that I did. By seeking greater spiritual understanding in general (which is what caused me to read the book again in the first place), I found what I hadn’t realized I was looking for all along.

***

It’s spirituality for the rest of us

Eckhart Tolle is awesome. So are Byron Katie and all those Buddhist monks we hear about. Why, then, doesn’t their advice immediately solve all our most pressing spiritual problems?

Why are their results so difficult to replicate?

You’re Getting Closer and The Power of Acceptance. Get them for an uplifting price on Amazon.

***

More mystical reading choices:

150 Law of Attraction Success Stories

My 40 All-Time Favorite Books for Mystics

Free Mysticism Ebook Offers

How do you love God, when there’s no face to God?

Is God really in everything? Even poopy diapers?

Is everything really just a projection of ourselves? Even the mean stuff people do? (Part One)

 

10 comments

  1. I tried to meditate after I got a mantra from Deborah King. It was a lot of work to carve out even 15 minutes in the beginning of my day to do this. Made it about 2 1/2 months. I’ve even read a wonderful little book that talked about the various forms that meditation can take: sitting, walking, etc.

      1. Excellent! I do well with guided meditations, and have done some in a group or by myself. But I’ve never done group meditation in silence. There is a CSL in Bellingham, just north of me. I love their holistic fairs that they put on. If I went to church, it would probably be at CSL or a Unity up in B’ham. But it’s at least a half hour drive, and I haven’t felt the strong urge to attend.

  2. Congratulations Mollie, I am looking to hear about all the positive things you attract with your new meditation practice. We absolutely are attracting all day every day, intentionally or not.

    That is why it is essential, as you point out, to be in the proper mental place. It isn’t just WHILE we are meditating (or saying our affirmations) that we are actively attracting.

    I find that most of my clients actual spend more time affirming negative things into their lives–albeit unintentionally! That is why we must be aware of our thoughts, so we can stop the negative ones and shift our focus to what we DO want.

Got an opinion? Do tell.

