Spiritual Practice Success Story: “I Am Writing Again”

new-thought-book-2

Contributor: Mollie Player

Several months back, I was busy–much busier than I am now. It was right after my baby was born, which was right after David and I moved into our new house (a 1950s rancher in need of some serious TLC).

I was sleep-deprived. I was stressed–much more than I can remember being in a very long time. I was happy, but I was missing something: my writing.

When it comes to my writing, I don’t keep a schedule. Unfortunately and fortunately, my writing cannot be my first priority and so, when I go a stretch (this one was a few months long) without it, I don’t feel guilty–but I do feel a little unfulfilled. Nevertheless, for me these waiting periods can be good; they help me build up momentum internally, so that when it’s time to get back to it, I’m ready.

And so, several days during this “dry spell,” while taking a walk, I said an affirmation that I could get back to my writing soon and be both inspired and productive in it.

And so, that is exactly what happened. Sometime in January, I opened up an old manuscript for the first time in months, and got back to it. By the end of the month I had the first draft of that manuscript complete and another book through its final edit. I decided on a publishing schedule that included at least four books this year, and at my current pace I’ll be well ahead of that target date.

It feels good. It feels easy. It feels inspired.

I am grateful.

***

It’s spirituality for the rest of us.

Eckhart Tolle is awesome. So are Byron Katie and all those Buddhist monks we hear about. Why, then, doesn’t their advice immediately solve all our most pressing spiritual problems?

Why are their results so difficult to replicate?

You’re Getting Closer and The Power of Acceptance. Get them for an uplifting price on Amazon.

***

More Stuff to Read:

Some Spiritual Practices Actually Work. It’s Amazing.

There are hundreds of spiritual techniques for overcoming depression and increasing inner peace. Here, stories about the ones that actually work. (In some posts, I rate the practices on a scale of 1-10, too. Sort of like county fair pumpkins, but more spiritual.)

These Are the Books I Want My Kids to Read Someday

Kids, here it is. Have at it.

I’m a Partner, a Mom, a Friend, a Mom, a Sister, a Daughter, a Businessperson and a Mom. Here’s What Helps.

Don’t read this section. It’s nonsense, mostly.

5 comments

  1. Hi Molly, it is great to hear you are writing again and how the law of attraction is working for you. Feeling good is definitely a great sign to know that what you are getting creatively is inspired. Keep up the good work.
    Chris

    Like

I like opinions. Especially mine. But here's where to put yours, too.

