Life Hack for Getting Suddenly Awesome: Get Some Friends

best-books-for-mystics-16

One day, shortly after my baby died, my mother came to visit me. She tried to comfort me but at the same time she knew that nothing she could say would make it better.

“I know I can’t really help you, Mollie,” she said. “I would if I could, but I can’t, and I’m sorry.”

Then she told me a story.

“When your dad left me,” she said, “A good friend of mine tried to comfort me. She prayed for me and did everything she could. But nothing helped. I was in so much pain, and as she talked to me, I looked at her and the thought came to me very clearly: ‘She can’t do anything to help me.’

“And that is the truth about friendship,” my mom went on. “Friends can’t really help you when you need it.

“Essentially, we are alone in this world.”

She was right, in a way. Friends can’t take your pain away.

Nothing she could say to me that day would help me feel better.

But having her there did.

It helped a lot.

Friends aren’t everything in life, and they’re certainly not perfect. But they’re good to have, anyway, if for no other reason than this: They are there. They are company. They bring pleasure.

And, a lot of the time, that’s enough.

***

It’s spirituality for the rest of us.

Eckhart Tolle is awesome. So are Byron Katie and all those Buddhist monks we hear about. Why, then, doesn’t their advice immediately solve all our most pressing spiritual problems?

Why are their results so difficult to replicate?

You’re Getting Closer and The Power of Acceptance. Get them for an uplifting price on Amazon.

***

More Stuff to Read:

Some Spiritual Practices Actually Work. It’s Amazing.

There are hundreds of spiritual techniques for overcoming depression and increasing inner peace. Here, stories about the ones that actually work. (In some posts, I rate the practices on a scale of 1-10, too. Sort of like county fair pumpkins, but more spiritual.)

These Are the Books I Want My Kids to Read Someday

Kids, here it is. Have at it.

I’m a Partner, a Mom, a Friend, a Mom, a Sister, a Daughter, a Businessperson and a Mom. Here’s What Helps.

Don’t read this section. It’s nonsense, mostly.

8 comments

  1. Hi Mollie:
    Great advice!
    My friends are the most important thing in my life. I know people who are always wallowing and its because they don’t get out enough. They say they have friends, but some of them don’t have as many friends as they think they do.

    I have an overwhelming number of friends. More now than at any other point in my life and I have the single best friend I’ve EVER EVER had.

    My friends keep me joyous.
    My friends keep my grateful.

    Thanks for reminding us how important our friends are to our wellbeing.

    Chris

    Like

  2. In hard times sometimes just having another person with you can make it a little easier to bear.i don’t feel like I’m alone, even when I am, I can be there for myself.

    Blessings to you. :)

    Like

  3. As someone who has moved around a lot in the last few years, this is currently one of my greatest struggles. I have lots of dear old friends, but they are all in a city I don’t live in.

    One side note: Facebook friendship is not a legitimate alternative. Virtual friends are, well, illusory. Comments on webpages don’t constitute “real” and meaningful communication, this note notwithstanding…

    Like

I like opinions. Especially mine. But here's where to put yours, too.

