Life Hack for Overcoming Depression: Get some friends

best-books-for-mystics-16

One day, shortly after my baby died, my mother came to visit me. She tried to comfort me but at the same time she knew that nothing she could say would make it better.

“I know I can’t really help you, Mollie,” she said. “I would if I could, but I can’t, and I’m sorry.”

Then she told me a story.

“When your dad left me,” she said, “A good friend of mine tried to comfort me. She prayed for me and did everything she could. But nothing helped. I was in so much pain, and as she talked to me, I looked at her and the thought came to me very clearly: ‘She can’t do anything to help me.’

“And that is the truth about friendship,” my mom went on. “Friends can’t really help you when you need it.

“Essentially, we are alone in this world.”

She was right, in a way. Friends can’t take your pain away.

Nothing she could say to me that day would help me feel better.

But having her there did.

It helped a lot.

Friends aren’t everything in life, and they’re certainly not perfect. But they’re good to have, anyway, if for no other reason than this: They are there. They are company. They bring pleasure.

And, a lot of the time, that’s enough.

***

“This is the kind of writing that makes me feel as if I’d sat down with the author on the sofa with cups of tea and we were talking together for hours. The style is so vulnerable …” – Heather

“I don’t know what to say other than it is the most beautiful book that I have ever read.” – Ashley

“Really, I am rather speechless.” – Sarah

“I loved the book!! I couldn’t stop reading it!! It touched me so very much.” – Haydee

“Player has given a beautiful gift to her readers. I was very touched.” – Celia

“Player’s chatty style evokes a realism and empathy for the story. One is able to feel her pain.” – Anonymous 

Get What I Learned from Jane on Amazon.

***  

More mystical reading choices:

On a scale of 1-10, how effective is positive thinking against depression?

What is meditation, really?

What does meditation feel like?

How do you stay in touch with the Divine throughout the day?

How do you love what is when you don’t even like it?

How do you love God, when there’s no face to God?

Is God really in everything? Even poopy diapers?

Is everything really just a projection of ourselves? Even the mean stuff people do?

Best Meditation Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Near Death Experience Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Channeled Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Law of Attraction Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Scientific Spiritual Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Reincarnation Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Spiritual Memoirs for Overcoming Depression

Best Other/Inspirational New Age Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Free New Age Ebooks for Overcoming Depression

Best of the Best: My Favorite Spiritual Books for Overcoming Depression

150 Law of Attraction Success Stories

 

6 comments

  1. Hi Mollie:
    Great advice!
    My friends are the most important thing in my life. I know people who are always wallowing and its because they don’t get out enough. They say they have friends, but some of them don’t have as many friends as they think they do.

    I have an overwhelming number of friends. More now than at any other point in my life and I have the single best friend I’ve EVER EVER had.

    My friends keep me joyous.
    My friends keep my grateful.

    Thanks for reminding us how important our friends are to our wellbeing.

    Chris

  2. In hard times sometimes just having another person with you can make it a little easier to bear.i don’t feel like I’m alone, even when I am, I can be there for myself.

    Blessings to you. 🙂

  3. As someone who has moved around a lot in the last few years, this is currently one of my greatest struggles. I have lots of dear old friends, but they are all in a city I don’t live in.

    One side note: Facebook friendship is not a legitimate alternative. Virtual friends are, well, illusory. Comments on webpages don’t constitute “real” and meaningful communication, this note notwithstanding…

Got an opinion? Do tell.

