Life Hack for Getting Suddenly Awesome: Get Some Money

best-books-for-mystics-8

Sometimes, I read self-help and even scientific books that talk about what makes people happy. And in almost all of them I’ve read so far, the authors try to make me believe that money doesn’t really bring happiness.

Well, I just don’t agree.

No matter how many books I read that say that and no many people try to convince me of it, I don’t ever believe the writers of these books, and the truth is, you probably don’t, either.

No one does.

Because we are people, not scientists or psychologists or researchers, and we remember how we felt before we had steak in the fridge and before we had a car—before, even, we could go to Starbuck’s whenever we wanted. (At least, I remember those times, since for me, they weren’t that long ago.)

As I said before, I enjoyed those times in my life, too, and there were things that I had then that I don’t have now and that were good.

But that doesn’t mean that I’d want to go back.

I like my things. I like new clothes, and a nice phone, and my laptop, and I like going out to eat sometimes. I like good lotion, not because it makes me look wealthy to other people when I carry it around in my purse (I live in Seattle, remember, where ostentatiousness is practically gauche), but because after my bath at night when I put it on and lay in bed it smells really good and then I read a book and it is nice.

It gives me pleasure.

So no, money doesn’t buy happiness, as the saying goes.

But it does buy pleasure.

And though pleasure isn’t everything I need in life to be happy, it certainly plays a part.

Don’t get me wrong, though; there’s a point at which having more money doesn’t make you happier—when the law of diminishing returns sets in and the difference between a nice vehicle and a really, really nice vehicle disappears on your happiness radar soon after purchase. And there’s a point, too, at which no amount of money, even a small amount added to a smaller amount, will make you happier because you feel so bad inside. And the opposite is true, too: you can be very happy even with very little.

You just have to be really, really good at it.

You probably have to be a saint.

And since I’m not a saint, and I don’t plan on becoming one in this lifetime, I like having a little added pleasure in my daily life.

I like money.

One more thought on the subject, though, and then I’ll stop talking about it for now: Those same scientists that try to convince us that money doesn’t make us happy have said one thing that I do very much agree with on the subject. A big, new house and a fast, expensive car gives you less pleasure overall than smaller treats you give yourself more often. So given the choice between the two—between an expensive haircut eight times a year, say, and a new car once a year or less—I’d go with the haircut.

Good hair is more important anyway.

***

“This is the kind of writing that makes me feel as if I’d sat down with the author on the sofa with cups of tea and we were talking together for hours. The style is so vulnerable …” – Heather

“I don’t know what to say other than it is the most beautiful book that I have ever read.” – Ashley

“Really, I am rather speechless.” – Sarah

“I loved the book!! I couldn’t stop reading it!! It touched me so very much.” – Haydee

“Player has given a beautiful gift to her readers. I was very touched.” – Celia

“Player’s chatty style evokes a realism and empathy for the story. One is able to feel her pain.” – Anonymous 

Get What I Learned from Jane on Amazon.

***

More Stuff to Read:

Some Spiritual Practices Actually Work. It’s Amazing.

There are hundreds of spiritual techniques for overcoming depression and increasing inner peace. Only one blog talks about whether or not they work. With ratings. (Take that, God.)

I Suspect Inner Peace Is Just a Myth. Here Are Interviews With People Who Disagree.

Some people are such show-offs. But that doesn’t mean they’re not worth listening to.

There’s a Book for That, Too

It’s a great time to get suddenly awesome. So many teachers. So many books.

I’m a Partner, a Mom, a Friend, a Mom, a Sister, a Daughter, a Businessperson and a Mom. Here’s What Helps.

One comment

I like opinions. Especially mine. But here's where to put yours, too.

