Get happy tip: Don’t get physical

best-books-for-mystics-14

Recently I read a book called The Progress Paradox: How Life Gets Better While People Feel Worse by Gregg Easterbrook. Overall, it’s a great read that makes its point pretty well.

Here are some of the terms he uses to describe the problems of modernity and how “progress” actually hinders happiness:

“Choice anxiety”

“Abundance denial”

“Collapse anxiety”

“Revolution of satisfied expectations” (by this he means our inabiity to appreciate what we have, always wanting more)

Interestingly, though, he doesn’t advise that the solution to choice anxiety, fear of loss and more is to get more stuff. Instead, he believes that getting more (which we sometimes refer to as “progress”) as a society won’t help us at all, because doing that just makes us focus on possessions as the answer.

The takeaway? You think you don’t have enough, but you do.

Now you need to seek something else entirely, making it a priority for maybe the first time in your life.

You need to seek meaning.

I definitely find this to be true in my life. There are a couple of really important things I put off for a long time, spending my days obsessively working instead. Lately that’s been changing, thank God, but it’s a tough mental shift to make. At the end of the day, instead of asking myself if I’ve accomplish enough tasks, I have to ask myself if I was mindful and awake instead. Did I enjoy my child? Did I enjoy my husband? Did I say affirmations? Did I pray? Did I take a walk?

Is this what you’re doing? Is finding meaning really the meaning of your life? Or are you still stuck at the “getting more” stage?

I’d love to hear your comments.

***

More mystical reading choices:

150 Law of Attraction Success Stories

My 40 All-Time Favorite Books for Mystics

Free Mysticism Ebook Offers

How do you love God, when there’s no face to God?

Is God really in everything? Even poopy diapers?

Is everything really just a projection of ourselves? Even the mean stuff people do? (Part One)

5 comments

  1. I put off blogging and writing while working to make a retirement so that I could be secure and do those things. Lol, I am not secure, except in knowing that God will provide, but I am doing those things I have always put off and enjoying them.
    Scott

  2. Wow, Mollie:
    So true!
    Love this:
    You think you don’t have enough, but you do.

    We must learn we can do more with less. What is our meaning? What give your life joy? When you discover what that is, then that’s what gives your life meaning.

    Go after that!

    Chris

what do you think?

