Law of Attraction Success Story: “I Am a Mother”

Photo courtesy of wilva at flickr.com/photos.

Guest contributor: Bethany of www.journeytoselfacceptance.wordpress.com

Six or seven years ago, things weren’t quite right with my life. I was thirty–a good age to be. I was married. We had the two-income, two-car, white picket fence American dream thing going on. But I just wasn’t feeling my life … Rush hour traffic, a cubicle, short coffee breaks and one hour lunches, living for Friday night happy hours and cramming everything worthwhile into the weekends. Sure, I was successful … But was I happy?

Well, the answer to that was “no.”

So, I set out to make some changes. First, I started a gratitude journal … And it worked! It made me feel like the world was bigger than just my little day-to-day tasks. Then, from there, I decided to do more. I started reading Louise Hay and Abraham Hicks and I watched a movie based on the book The Secret.

Now, at first this New Age stuff sounds like wishful thinking or living in your own world of make-believe.For a while there, I just could not see how positive statements would work to change my current existence.

Then it began to sink in: This kind of thinking can lead to very specific and highly impactful shifts in your identity and core beliefs about yourself.

Here’s an example: Though I have always wanted to be a mother, I was pretty petrified at the thought of all that responsibility and unsure that I could live up to my end of the bargain. I had very deep-seated insecurities and a neediness that overpowered my natural ability to give everything I had to a baby. So, I worked on affirming and visualizing myself as a confident mother and soon, I decided that I AM A MOM!

And here’s the cool thing: For the first time, I felt it. I believed it.  I hadn’t even become a mom yet but I knew I was one. I can only describe it as someone else telling me–my higher Self, or God–that it was true. My critical mind didn’t matter. I suddenly believed in myself!

After that, I took a pregnancy test … and it was positive.

Of course, I had anxieties while expecting (I still do and he’s now three!). But I don’t doubt to my core that I am a good mother.

Bethany

***

Inspiration from the other side.

You’ve been on the spiritual path for a good while now. You’ve read the books. Maybe even met a guru or two. Sometimes, though, you need a different kind of inspiration. Inspiration from someone who knows how hard this inner peace stuff really is.

You’re Getting Closer and The Power of Acceptance. Get them for an uplifting price on Amazon.

***

More Stuff to Read:

Some Spiritual Practices Actually Work. It’s Amazing.

There are hundreds of spiritual techniques for overcoming depression and increasing inner peace. Only one blog talks about whether or not they work. With ratings. (Take that, God.)

I Suspect Inner Peace Is Just a Myth. Here Are Interviews With People Who Disagree.

Some people are such show-offs. But that doesn’t mean they’re not worth listening to.

There’s a Book for That, Too

It’s a great time to get suddenly awesome. So many teachers. So many books.

I’m a Partner, a Mom, a Friend, a Mom, a Sister, a Daughter, a Businessperson and a Mom. Here’s What Helps.

 

2 comments

I like opinions. Especially mine. But here's where to put yours, too.

