Get happy tip: You’re more negative than you think

law-of-attraction-tree

Recently a friend told me about a study saying that about 80% of our thoughts are negative, and only 20% or fewer are positive or neutral.

Oh, crap, I thought when I heard that. And my second thought was: Yeah. That’s so, so true.

Here’s a brief inventory of my thoughts for the day: I’m so hungry, I’m so full, I don’t have time to do that, What will he think of me?, I wish she’d leave me alone, and Damn, I hate water.

And those are just the least embarrassing ones.

The problem is, of course, that when you’re negative, you’re also attracting more negativity in a “downward spiral” of sorts. I guess this is why so many people try to pray or meditate in the mornings every day. Maybe they figure they can start a “positivity spiral” for the day instead.

So today, ask yourself: “Do I attract negativity?” Think about who you are inside – not who you think you project when with others, because believe me, people are not usually fooled and you can’t keep it up all the time.

But think about the person you are when you are alone or – most notably – with your family. Then ask yourself: Am I negative? If so, no big deal. Knowing it is half the battle, as they say.

After that: Get to work! And I will, too.

***

More mystical reading choices:

150 Law of Attraction Success Stories

My 40 All-Time Favorite Books for Mystics

Free Mysticism Ebook Offers

How do you love God, when there’s no face to God?

Is God really in everything? Even poopy diapers?

Is everything really just a projection of ourselves? Even the mean stuff people do? (Part One)

9 comments

  1. I feel like another important aspect of this is how you relate to negativity itself. Thinking “man, I look fat and ugly today!” is technically “negative,” and negativity cannot be avoided, at all, by anyone. BUT- the way we respond to it can be controlled! I can totally look at myself and think “man, I’m so fat and ugly! ha, what a funny thing that I am so concerned with appearances. Well, at least I don’t have to be the prettiest person in the room today!” or some other such thought. The point is, if we take negativity lightly and don’t let it ruin our day, that can sometimes be more sustainable than having a “positivity spiral” because if I ever ran into someone on a positivity spiral, I’m pretty sure I’d walk away thinking “jeez, what an annoying person!” 🙂 Whereas, if I can laugh at my own negative thoughts, and react to other people’s negative thoughts with gentleness and compassion instead of judgement or fear, it can be a much better outcome in the end. This post is a great reminder for me, thanks!

  2. Oh yeah, we are all negative more than positive. I was told once that you hear the word “no” something like 20 times (or more) than you hear the word “yes”. I started each day of my children’s first five years of life with a question: “Do you know what you are?” The answer was given to them until they could do it themselves: “Yes, we are special!” They still remember that and it was my attack against the no’s, wherever they might come from.
    Scott

  3. I really like your post today, it is inspirational. Thanks for blogging. Yep, I think I may be more negative than I realize, it is a really good thing to think about.

what do you think?

