Life Hack for Overcoming Depression: Sometimes, Get Ahead of Yourself

best-books-for-mystics-12

This week I’ve been re-reading a book called The Power of Now. It is all about the importance of not getting ahead of yourself and appreciating the moment you’re living right now.

I agree with the things it says but at certain times in my life, living for the future has helped me a lot.

Sometimes getting away from the present is a good thing, after all.

And even now, even when everything is going good and I don’t need to get away from it at all, I still want to appreciate the little things more, but I don’t want to forget about my dreams and my goals, either.

I love them.

They are part of my happiness.

So. . . is living for the moment a wise practice or a foolish habit? Let me know what you think!

***

“This is the kind of writing that makes me feel as if I’d sat down with the author on the sofa with cups of tea and we were talking together for hours. The style is so vulnerable …” – Heather

“I don’t know what to say other than it is the most beautiful book that I have ever read.” – Ashley

“Really, I am rather speechless.” – Sarah

“I loved the book!! I couldn’t stop reading it!! It touched me so very much.” – Haydee

“Player has given a beautiful gift to her readers. I was very touched.” – Celia

“Player’s chatty style evokes a realism and empathy for the story. One is able to feel her pain.” – Anonymous 

Get What I Learned from Jane on Amazon.

***

More Stuff to Read:

Some Spiritual Practices Actually Work. It’s Amazing.

There are hundreds of spiritual techniques for overcoming depression and increasing inner peace. Only one blog talks about whether or not they work. With ratings. (Take that, God.)

I Suspect Inner Peace Is Just a Myth. Here Are Interviews With People Who Disagree.

Some people are such show-offs. But that doesn’t mean they’re not worth listening to.

There’s a Book for That, Too

It’s a great time to get suddenly awesome. So many teachers. So many books.

I’m a Partner, a Mom, a Friend, a Mom, a Sister, a Daughter, a Businessperson and a Mom. Here’s What Helps.

10 comments

  1. Love this question!

    I’d say – for me – eager anticipation of something coming up (taking my Mum to stay in Byron Bay for the first time ever) is a great way to get into my feelgood. In fact, sometimes anticipation is almost as good as the experience – AND it can be a fun way to pre-pave for a great time.

    Worry about the future, on the other hand? Clearly not helpful. It’s when I catch myself doing that, I know to come back to right now. And that brings some big relief.

    Thanks for helping me articulate that distinction! :-)

    Like

  2. Hi Mollie – Loving your blog; and all the Law of Attraction stories, too! I’ve pondered this present moment issue all of my life and have come to the realization that this moment is all we have. We are always in the Now. Whether we are thinking about the past or dreaming of the future, it all happens in the only moment we have, which is Now! Pretty mind blowing when you think about it.

    I think it’s all about Balance. I think your desires and goals can pre-pave the direction your life takes, but if you can never just simply enjoy this moment and the magic it contains, well, what fun is that?

    Like

  3. Hi Mollie, nice post :) I agree with what sweetj2 says above, very nicely put. An Abraham quote really says it all for me

    “Your life is right now! It’s not later, your life is right now and it will always be right now. You might as well decide to start enjoying your life right now because it’s not ever going to get any better than right now – until it gets better right now”

    Ever since I read that quote my whole life turned around :)

    Like

  4. Being a born-again Bible believer, I have an eternity to look forward to. Each moment I spend in life MUST have a goal: Teaching my children to become responsible adults of Biblical Character… Making our home as nice as possible, not only for our family now, but for whoever may live in it after us… Becoming more of the woman God wants me to be… When I become discouraged, I lose track of my goals & then the depression sets in. Now means nothing without a future to look forward to. Great post Mollie!

    Like

I like opinions. Especially mine. But here's where to put yours, too.

