Life Hack for Getting Suddenly Awesome: Sometimes, Be Embarrassed

best-books-for-mystics-6

“People that can’t blush are worthless.” –Ernest Hemingway, The Garden of Eden

I like to say that I am a naturally shy person.

No one believes it, but I say it anyway.

All through elementary school and high school, I was the quietest kid around. In college, I decided to get over it, so, after a while, I did.

But I’ll always be proud of the way I used to be.

And I will always be her.

Shyness, embarrassment, quietness—to me, it means that I am still a little girl.

Somewhere inside myself, I still care what people think of me.

Because I want to be their friend.

And, I think, that is good.

***

“This is the kind of writing that makes me feel as if I’d sat down with the author on the sofa with cups of tea and we were talking together for hours. The style is so vulnerable …” – Heather

“I don’t know what to say other than it is the most beautiful book that I have ever read.” – Ashley

“Really, I am rather speechless.” – Sarah

“I loved the book!! I couldn’t stop reading it!! It touched me so very much.” – Haydee

“Player has given a beautiful gift to her readers. I was very touched.” – Celia

“Player’s chatty style evokes a realism and empathy for the story. One is able to feel her pain.” – Anonymous 

Get What I Learned from Jane on Amazon.

***

More Stuff to Read:

Some Spiritual Practices Actually Work. It’s Amazing.

There are hundreds of spiritual techniques for overcoming depression and increasing inner peace. Only one blog talks about whether or not they work. With ratings. (Take that, God.)

I Suspect Inner Peace Is Just a Myth. Here Are Interviews With People Who Disagree.

Some people are such show-offs. But that doesn’t mean they’re not worth listening to.

There’s a Book for That, Too

It’s a great time to get suddenly awesome. So many teachers. So many books.

I’m a Partner, a Mom, a Friend, a Mom, a Sister, a Daughter, a Businessperson and a Mom. Here’s What Helps.

 

7 comments

  1. I have a couple of friends I get together with EVERY Sunday at a local Starbucks. They BOTH relish in getting me to turn fifty shades of red. It doesn’t take much either. I can blush at the drop of a hat with these two.

    Laughing, blushing. It’s all the same to me. I’m far from shy but these two friends have no difficulty bringing out the red in me.

    All in good fun though.

    Chris

    Like

    1. My dad used to say that I was so cute when I was little and shy … I don’t like kids who are too confident, either. Maybe that’s bad, I don’t know. :)

      Like

  2. People that blush are really cute :)

    Liked this post, i used to be shy and quiet. Feeling embarrassed is cool too, i say to everyone embrace it, feel it, its good to feel alive. Those days of me being embarrassed at school are greatly missed! *cries*

    Like

I like opinions. Especially mine. But here's where to put yours, too.

