Get happy tip: Take medication

best-books-for-mystics-20

From a story I’m working on:

“After I left my husband, I met someone who told me that he took medication for depression, and that it’s not unhealthy. After that I realized that I had worked really hard to do without it for a long time, and maybe it was finally time to give in. So I did. Things got better. It was the right decision.”

Do you take medication for your depression? If so, how long did you wait while being depressed before you started? I’d love to read your comments.

***

More mystical reading choices:

150 Law of Attraction Success Stories

My 40 All-Time Favorite Books for Mystics

Free Mysticism Ebook Offers

How do you love God, when there’s no face to God?

Is God really in everything? Even poopy diapers?

Is everything really just a projection of ourselves? Even the mean stuff people do? (Part One)

5 comments

  1. After my Dad passed away a number of people told me that I was dealing with depression but I didn’t wanted to believe it. Then I found myself in bed for four days straight with no reason to get up. A friend of mine, realizing what was going on, came and pulled me out of the bed and house. At that time I realized my the depression was serious and I needed to do something. I was contemplating about taking meds however my friend who is on meds as well stated. “It’s a drug, you will feel better but if you don’t want to take the meds for the rest of your life you need to deal with whatever it is”. My boyfriend and a number of other pharma people agreed with her. Finally with the help of my boyfriend I was able to participate in a behavioral therapy study. Since I was unemployed at the time I was in no position to pay for any type of therapy. The study did wonders.

    1. I am all for behavioral therapy. Medication is just one tool in the arsenal.

      I think this blog really is about behavioral therapy, actually – I think that’s what I’ve been doing on my own my whole life.

      When I was painfully shy, I pushed myself to talk in class even though my voice was shaking.

      Etc., etc.

      Good for you for finding your light.

  2. I’ve had chronic depression since puberty (nine years old) and it took me until my mid-twenties to accept the help of medication. Psychiatrists and doctor had put me on anti-depressants and, in one case, anti-psychotics in the past, but I was only on them for a short time and resented having to take them.

    After trying a few drugs, I’m now on Cipralex and beta-blockers for panic, and they help enormously. Having my anxiety calmed enables me to cope with the depression a little better, and stops me making dangerous decisions.

    I suspect I’ll be on them for life. I’ve had therapies and, although they help, there’s something wrong with the chemicals in my brain and I can’t control that.

    1. I think that the best approach always includes behavioral modification as well. But drugs are good, too. I am on and off meds, but I am never on and off my behavioral approach! There is ALWAYS more to learn.

      Do you say affirmations, by any chance?

  3. I don’t believe that we should divide health into mental and physical, for too many people ‘mental’ just means made up or a character weakness. Depression involves chemicals, chemicals are physical. And I’m not a genius. If you need medication to regulate your insulin, you don’t question it, you take it because your body needs it. If your body needs antidepressants then take it. (In a very simple world). I’m meant to take it, I eventually got prescribed in my very late teens. I’d been depressed a decade by then but never knew what the matter was. I’ve continued taking them on and off but the side effects aren’t always worth it. But I always know when I should be taking it.

    (Woah, I’ve said a lot and I don’t usually open up on the subject).

    🙂

what do you think?

