Life Hack for Overcoming Depression: A time to try and a time to just let it happen

best-books-for-mystics-20

I have overcome three major problems in my life: shyness, loneliness, and, to a large degree, depression. All three took a long time.

I used to go to church and one of the things we used to say there was that overcoming one’s habitual sins is a gift from God. No one can change themselves.

We called it grace.

It was that thing that changes you almost without your own participation, except that of wanting to change.

And I have changed.

It took a long time, but I am no longer shy, except in the way that is just part of my personality.

And I’m not depressed anymore, except in that necessary way that everyone has to feel sometimes.

I am happy.

And lately, I haven’t been praying much anymore and I haven’t been reading the bible, yet I am feeling better than ever. So I wonder where it really comes from or if maybe I should call it something else.

It’s like magic.

I am hoping for more of that magic.

I know, too, though, that it wasn’t just this magic that helped me get over those things.

It was work and time and maturity.

So there is some trying. There is trying, and there is not trying too hard, and both, I think, are important.

***

“This is the kind of writing that makes me feel as if I’d sat down with the author on the sofa with cups of tea and we were talking together for hours. The style is so vulnerable …” – Heather

“I don’t know what to say other than it is the most beautiful book that I have ever read.” – Ashley

“Really, I am rather speechless.” – Sarah

“I loved the book!! I couldn’t stop reading it!! It touched me so very much.” – Haydee

“Player has given a beautiful gift to her readers. I was very touched.” – Celia

“Player’s chatty style evokes a realism and empathy for the story. One is able to feel her pain.” – Anonymous 

Get What I Learned from Jane on Amazon.

***  

More mystical reading choices:

On a scale of 1-10, how effective is positive thinking against depression?

What is meditation, really?

What does meditation feel like?

How do you stay in touch with the Divine throughout the day?

How do you love what is when you don’t even like it?

How do you love God, when there’s no face to God?

Is God really in everything? Even poopy diapers?

Is everything really just a projection of ourselves? Even the mean stuff people do?

Best Meditation Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Near Death Experience Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Channeled Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Law of Attraction Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Scientific Spiritual Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Reincarnation Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Spiritual Memoirs for Overcoming Depression

Best Other/Inspirational New Age Books for Overcoming Depression

Best Free New Age Ebooks for Overcoming Depression

Best of the Best: My Favorite Spiritual Books for Overcoming Depression

150 Law of Attraction Success Stories

 

6 comments

  1. We’ve been having a happiness debate over at mine: what a coincidence! I love your questioning: it’s where I am too. Problems will present themselves periodically. If we walk with a God I love to think of him as Ted Hughes portrays him: as an engineer tinkering in a shed, taking delight in creating but working alongside us on our lives. A sort of democratic soul who wants us to be the greatest we can be. A partnership.
    And each day we get moments when something moves us. Today, for me, it was a spider spinning a web, and the beautiful forest I get to walk in.
    I wonder if these are what make us happy?
    Please excuse the long comment! You really got me thinking.

    1. Thanks for the comment, Kate! I will check out your blog too.

      ITA with your view of God. He works WITH us, not against us. There are times to try hard, to work hard, and then there are times when all we can do is realize we are weak and that we want to change… and hopefully, eventually, that will be enough. For me, I have found that to be enough pretty often.

  2. I don’t read the Bible anymore. I do pray, but it is different. I don’t believe in sin, so salvation and grace are not a real part of my prayers, yet I am happier and more satisfied than I have ever been. I have found God and He is deep within me. Actually, He IS me and you and all of us…I don’t understand it all, but I am happy with what I do understand. For the first time…
    Scott

what do you think?

